Climate Bridges

 

Whether the Paris Conference (COP21) process leads to success or is perceived as a failure, it now seems that even if they disagree on the path, the large majority of players share the same goal. It is this joint concern and dynamic that CLIMATE BRIDGES wants to underline and preserve.

To speed up the implementation of the Paris agreement and avoid time being wasted on accusations about whose responsibility failure in Paris would be, CLIMATE BRIDGES proposes two complementary approaches:

  • Create a space for informal mediation to convene participants committed to maximize the chances of a positive outcome;
  • Moderate a series of Public Debates before and during the United Nations conference in Paris, reflecting and possibly impacting the progress of formal negotiations.

Also, this approach will insure a forceful and strategic handover between COP21 and COP22, not forfeit the implementation of commitments and achieve new results.

The urgency of urgency

As we near the United Nations Conference on Climate Change (COP21 will be held in Paris from November 30 to December 11), the fear - or intent - of failure to reach significant agreements looms over the horizon.

While a number of governments still have a minimalist approach to Climate Change, a significant component of civil society believes that the overall process is not meaningful enough and says : “we don’t want COP22, we want COP 1”. And so, as we noted on July 29 in New York at the High Level Event on Climate Change, the urgency for action is compounded by the urgency among those actors (UN, governments or NGOs) that deeply want to see an agreement reached at the Paris Conference, a lasting agreement beyond 2030. The UN Secretary General, Ban Ki Moon, regretted the current negotiations on climate change were too slow, saying: “they advance at a snail's pace".

This feeling of urgency hasn’t abated, far from it.

So it is in this context that Bridge Initiative International, through CLIMATE BRIDGES and the knowledge acquired at previous United Nations conferences, hopes to serve this historic challenge. Contacts made to date with the UN, the French government, civil society and experts (see section F) suggest a real need and impetus for us to get involved.

An informal
mediation space

At a time when blockages are recognized, such issues as global warming financing (between public and private sectors, between North and South, or among developing countries), monitoring and reporting, the binding nature of the Agreement, according to our interlocutors, entry points exist for us to initiate discussions and advance the negotiations themselves.

On links such as:

  • Climate and trade (treaty negotiations on transatlantic and transpacific partnerships on one side, and on the Climate on the other);
  • Climate and climate refugees;
  • Climate and development.

Similarly, if the governments closest to reaching a significant agreement already have their own dialogue with civil society, the very fact of bringing together these actors (governments, civil society and sometimes the private sector) makes this process constructive. At first, this would mean to bring together between 20 and 30 people for exploratory purposes and together decide on the nature and frequency of the process, leading to the Paris Conference. To help overcome preconceived ideas, the first meeting should last two to three days.

Finally, we noted that following the inception of a mediation and dialogue space, it often happened that the conflicting actors made that space their own, for ends that we had not necessarily envisaged, and which proved positive for all participants.

Public debates,
a countdown

Bridge Initiative International plans to organize a series of Public Debates, open to the media and aimed at providing better information to citizens on the negotiations progress, the issues' relevance, and also to weigh on, through the Public Space, the positions of all the actors involved at COP21.

1. Is there an alternative to the COP process?

Should we do things differently to combat global warming? The idea here is to accept extreme criticism of those who think that the Summit should not take place, that the process itself is flawed. Taking into account those voices from the outset is to reduce tensions and make that part of civil society and some governments of the G77 constituent to an open and constructive dialogue and inherent to the official process.

2. COP21: last chance saloon?

Some have the feeling that this process is "too little, too late”, despite it only being a few years since a few questioned the scientific basis of the alarm call about the future of our planet. How to permanently remove this question? Equally, how do we fight the growing sense of doom, our citizens’ climate fatigue, faced by the seemingly unescapable catastrophe.

3. Climate: who does what?

The skates are such and the issues so numerous, that it appears important to quickly understand who does what? And who bears responsibility? Specifically, what should be done now and by whom? It is also clear that often, government policies lag behind citizens and business initiatives. Can our collective intelligence provide concrete, immediate decisions, which impact could be radical.

4. What happens after COP21?

Whether on December 11, 2015, Paris is a success or a failure, it is essential to look to the future. Either to implement agreements, or to maintain the necessary pressure for subsequent ones, or perhaps to overhaul the process. The purpose of that debate, from December 12, will be to efficiently and lucidly project into the future, whatever it may be.

Following up towards COP22

It is clear that whatever the outcome at COP21, even a very positive one, the handover between France and Morocco, the host country in November 2016, will be critical. And that is why, in the margins of the official processes, Climate Bridges has already secured the participation of the Moroccan gouvernement and its civil society representation to its own informal processes.

Climate Bridges

Climate Bridges

 

Pour accompagner le processus de la COP21, CLIMATE BRIDGES met en place deux démarches complémentaires :

  • créer un espace de médiation informel à même de rassembler certains acteurs soucieux de maximiser les chances d’un résultat positif ;
  • modérer une série de Débats Publics en amont et pendant la conférence des Nations Unies à Paris, comme un compte à rebours parallèle aux négociations officielles.

Et puis aussi s’assurer d’un passage de témoin dynamique et stratégique entre COP21 et COP22 afin de ne pas lâcher prise sur la mise en œuvre des engagements et l’obtention de nouveaux résultats.

Contexte :
l'urgence de l'urgence

Alors que le moment (30 novembre - 11 décembre) de la Conférence des Nations Unies sur le Réchauffement Climatique se rapproche, la crainte – ou le « souhait » pour certains - de ne pas parvenir à atteindre des accords significatifs se profile.

Certains gouvernements ont encore une approche minimaliste des mesures à prendre. Une partie de la société civile, quant à elle, juge que l’ensemble du processus  n’a plus de sens et dit « Nous ne voulons pas d’une COP22, nous voulons COP 1 ». Et donc, comme nous avons pu le constater le 29 juin dernier à New York lors du « High Level Event on Climate Change », un sentiment d’urgence de l’action vient se rajouter à l’urgence de l’enjeu chez ceux des acteurs (Nations Unies, gouvernements ou ONGs) qui veulent profondément voir la Conférence de Paris aboutir à un accord et même à un accord durable, au delà de 2030. Le Secrétaire Général de l’ONU, Ban Ki Moon, a pu aller jusqu’à regretter que les négociations en cours sur le Climat soient « trop lentes » et dire «  Cela avance à la vitesse d’un escargot ».

Ce sentiment d’urgence ne s’est pas loin de là, atténué depuis.

C’est donc dans ce contexte là que Bridge Initiative International souhaite, à travers CLIMATE BRIDGES, mettre son savoir faire, acquis notamment lors de conférences antérieures des Nations Unies, au service de cet enjeu ultime.

Un espace informel
de médiation

A un moment où les blocages sont réputés porter notamment sur les questions du financement de la lutte contre le réchauffement climatique (entre public et privé, entre Nord et Sud, au sein des pays du Sud), du monitoring et du reporting, du caractère contraignant de l’accord, des points d’entrée existent, aux dires de nos interlocuteurs, pour amorcer des discussions, partielles et latérales certes, mais susceptibles de faire avancer la négociation elle-même.

Ainsi des liens entre :

  • Négociations sur le Traité transatlantique et le Partenariat Trans-Pacifique d’un côté et celles sur le Climat de l’autre ;
  • Climat et Réfugiés Climatiques ;
  • Climat et Développement.

De même, si les gouvernements les plus en pointe dans le sens d’un accord conséquent dialoguent déjà avec leur propre société civile, le fait de rassembler ces acteurs-là de manière transversale (gouvernements, société civile et parfois secteur privé) en présence des instances du pays organisateur et des Nations Unies peut constituer un véritable processus. Il s’agirait de rassembler d’abord entre 20 et 30 personnes à titre exploratoire puis de décider ensemble de la nature et la fréquence du processus jusqu’à la Conférence de Paris. La toute première réunion devrait durer entre deux et trois jours pour dépasser les préjugés éventuels.

Enfin, nous avons pu constater qu’à la suite de la constitution d’un espace de médiation et de dialogue, il arrivait souvent que les acteurs en conflit s’en emparent à telle ou telle fin que nous n’avions pas forcément prévue et qui se révèle positive pour l’ensemble des participants.

Débats publics,
un compte à rebours

Bridge Initiative International compte organiser une série de Débats Publics, ouverts aux médias, destinés à fournir une meilleure information aux citoyens sur l’évolution des négociations et sur l’importance des enjeux et aussi à peser, à travers l’Espace Public, sur la position de l’ensemble des acteurs impliqués dans la COP21.

1. Existe-t-il une alternative au processus de la COP ?

Devrait-on s’y prendre autrement pour combattre le réchauffement climatique? L’idée ici consiste à accepter la critique extrême de ceux qui pensent que le Sommet ne devrait pas avoir lieu, que le processus lui-même est vicié. Afin de prendre d’emblée en compte ces voix-là, de diminuer les tensions et de faire en sorte que cette part de la société civile et de certains gouvernements du G77 s’inscrivent dans un dialogue ouvert et constructif avec le processus officiel.

2. COP21 : Est-ce vraiment la dernière chance ?

L’impression existe déjà que c’est “trop peu, trop tard” (too little, too late) alors même qu’il y a peu, certains – pour quelques uns, c’est encore le cas - remettaient en question le bien fondé scientifique du cri d’alarme quant à l’avenir même de la planète. Comment évacuer définitivement cette mise en doute ? Un danger existe-t-il de faire face à une lassitude (Climate Fatigue) des citoyens, des opinions, devant un « catastrophisme » ? Si oui, comment combattre cela ?

3. Climat : Qui doit faire quoi ?

Les questions posées par l’enjeu du Climat sont tellement nombreuses qu’il apparait important de reposer au plus vite et le plus clairement possible celle du “Qui doit faire quoi?”, à qui incombe quelle responsabilité? Préciser ce qui doit être fait au plus vite et par qui? On peut d’ailleurs avoir le sentiment que les citoyens, les entreprises, ont pu dans certains domaines prendre un temps d’avance sur les politiques gouvernementales. Notre intelligence collective peut-elle permettre des décisions concrètes, immédiates, dont l’impact pourrait être radical ?

4. L'après COP21 ?

Qu’il y ait, le 11 décembre 2015 à Paris, succès ou échec, il sera essentiel de se projeter dans l’avenir, soit pour mettre en œuvre ce qui aura été adopté, soit pour maintenir sur le champ la pression nécessaire à l’obtention prochaine d’autres résultats, soit pour tout remettre à plat. L’objectif de ce débat-là sera, dès le 12 décembre, de se projeter efficacement et lucidement dans l’avenir, quelle qu’en soit la couleur.

Un suivi vers la COP22

De toute évidence, quel que soit le résultat, même très positif, de la COP21, le passage de témoin entre la France et le Maroc, qui sera donc, en novembre 2016, le pays hôte de la COP22, sera essentiel. Et c’est pour cela qu’en marge des processus officiels existants, « CLIMATE BRIDGES » s’est d’ores et déjà assuré de la participation de la partie prenante marocaine (société civile et gouvernement) à notre propre processus informel.

Climate Bridges